Cassette help

Amberboy
Amberboy Posts: 5
edited November 2016 in Workshop
Hi All.
I need a little help here please guys. I've been riding for a couple of years now and have decided to start upgrading the bike a little. I got a really good deal on a set of Zipp 404's. They came with a 10 speed Shimano cassette 11-28.
I'm currently riding with a campagnolo set with 50-34 on the front and 12-30 on the rear. This is where my knowledge ends. I was thinking it was a straight swap over but when I put on the new wheel, not only does it run horribly but it has a large gap between the spokes and the cassette resulting in the chain coming off. Am I right in thinking that campagonolo and shimano aren't compatible and if so whats the cheapest way to get round this problem.

Many Thanks

Comments

• thistle_
    thistle_ Posts: 7,217
    Amberboy wrote:
    Hi All.
    I need a little help here please guys. I've been riding for a couple of years now and have decided to start upgrading the bike a little. I got a really good deal on a set of Zipp 404's. They came with a 10 speed Shimano cassette 11-28.
    I'm currently riding with a campagnolo set with 50-34 on the front and 12-30 on the rear. This is where my knowledge ends. I was thinking it was a straight swap over but when I put on the new wheel, not only does it run horribly but it has a large gap between the spokes and the cassette resulting in the chain coming off. Am I right in thinking that campagonolo and shimano aren't compatible and if so whats the cheapest way to get round this problem.

Many Thanks
    Having a gap should not be an issue - the limit screws on the derailleur stop the chain falling off the top sprocket, not the spokes of the wheel.

I can't answer the general compatibility question, but I'm sure someone else will.
  • slowbike
    slowbike Posts: 8,498
    3 choices

1) sell that wheel and get one with a campag freehub
    2) remove that freehub and replace with a campag freehub