Winter Attire

grant2307
grant2307 Posts: 135
edited December 2016 in Road beginners
Hey.

Been having a look around but not seen exactly what I am looking for.

I'm new to cycling and I'm in the process of building a road / hybrid bike. My aim is to have the bike ready for around November 14th.

My wonder is requirements for my 'commute'. I say commute but it will be between 2-3 miles each way max but I aim aiming to get stuck in and replace this for my car driving to work.

Starting in November will be cold and wet without a doubt. I will be buying a 360 degree reflective jacket (as a frequent car driver in London, I appreciate seeing those jackets when driving at night, especially in the wet.) I would also like to know about base layers / trousers and waterproofs. I'm 6ft6 and have size 13 feet so would like to make sure the shoe covers fit :lol: don't want to resort to bags for life.

I have shorts with padding that I will wear underneath any water proofs on the bottom half. More concerned with top half being warm and bottom half staying dry.

Thanks.

Comments

• cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    2 or 3 miles is nothing really. Id not kit up in my bike stuff for that short a ride. You'd spend longer getting changed.

Decent jacket. Maybe overtrousers if it's raining but full mudguards and flaps would be the biggest thing you can do to keep dry.

What shoes are you wearing? You can get cheap overshoes for bike shoes - not sure if they'd work with dress shoes..
  • ForumNewbie
    ForumNewbie Posts: 1,664
    Even on wet winter days, I just wear cycle shorts with leg warmers - I think waterproof overtrousers aren't necessary, especially for such a short commute. Overshoes, winter gloves and a scull cap below your helmet are all good for cold, wet winter mornings.
  • Redbaron1
    Redbaron1 Posts: 116