Which wheels advice please

vince133
vince133 Posts: 61
edited October 2016 in Road buying advice
Hi

I am a relative newcomer to road biking. I have a specialized Tarmac Elite which I have been using for about 18 months. I am considering upgrading my wheels and have read quite a bit of stuff.

I use the bike to commute about 10 to 15 miles each way depending on my chosen route. I also do slightly longer rides upto about 40 miles. I am looking to increase my distance and average speed and believe wheels would be the best upgrade. Budget is flexible but probably looking at £500 to £700 unless advised differently.

Any advice or recommendations would be appreciated as it is a considerable investment for me. Thanks in advance.

Vince

Comments

• diamonddog
    diamonddog Posts: 3,426
    IME more expensive wheels will have no effect on average speed or ability to cover greater distances they are improved by your fitness level improving.
    An example here, on bike 1 I have wheels costing approx £700 and sub 1500gm with bike weight at 6.8kg on bike 2 the wheels cost £150 and weigh 1620gm with bike weight at 7.3kg, both bikes are carbon, my average speed and distance I can cover is exactly the same on both bikes.
  • jdee84
    jdee84 Posts: 288
    edited October 2016
    diamonddog wrote:
    IME more expensive wheels will have no effect on average speed or ability to cover greater distances they are improved by your fitness level improving.
    An example here, on bike 1 I have wheels costing approx £700 and sub 1500gm with bike weight at 6.8kg on bike 2 the wheels cost £150 and weigh 1620gm with bike weight at 7.3kg, both bikes are carbon, my average speed and distance I can cover is exactly the same on both bikes.

+1
    My first road bike is alloy with a set of 1.9kg dt swiss wheels on it, i was in much better shape last year and haven't bettered several strava pbs on the same bike with 50mm carbon clinchers this year.