Semi- compact or compact?

essjaybee7
essjaybee7 Posts: 3
edited October 2016 in Road buying advice
Hi,

I'm relatively new to Road cycling (2 years) and I'm looking at getting a new road bike. I currently have a Triple crankset and I'm after advice on whether to go for a 50/34 or 52/36? I live quite close to the Lake District so a lot of my rides involve hills, many of which I can comfortably climb in the middle ring, however on steeper climbs there are times when I need to drop down to 'the Granny cog' - something that practice is now starting to eliminate, hence the semi or compact question. Can anyone advise please ?

Comments

• Nobody can advise and if they claim to do so they are bullshitting you. They are just gear ratios, choose whichever works for you by simple means of front/back to work out what you're going to need.
  • imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    essjaybee7 wrote:
    Can anyone advise please ?

If you need to ask, then the answer is 'compact'. Otherwise, see above.
  • Correct steps are:

1) Put both options on here:

http://www.ritzelrechner.de/#

2) Agonise over preferred cadence, gaps in gears, straight chainline, cog size

3) Ignore steps 1 and 2 and buy whatever option you can pick up for the cheapest
  • craigus89
    craigus89 Posts: 887
    As above, it is up to you, but a jump form a triple to a semi-compact and a 28 on the back (It's rare to get bikes with semi-compact and anything bigger than a 28 on the back as standard) is quite a difference. I would stick to compact personally, especially in the terrain you live in.
  • mrb123
    mrb123 Posts: 4,787
    Compact front. 11-32 on the back if possible. Sooner or later you'll find yourself at the bottom of Hardknott and be very glad you made that choice.
  • MrB123 wrote:
    Compact front. 11-32 on the back if possible. Sooner or later you'll find yourself at the bottom of Hardknott and be very glad you made that choice.