Winter months

C_Sherriffs
C_Sherriffs Posts: 4
edited October 2016 in Road beginners
Hi guys,

I am just wondering what sort of things some of you people do over the winter months to keep fit?

I know when the nights get dark sooner, the ground gets frosty and the temperature plummets but what do you lot do to keep fit during them hard times?

I am a cycling coach and am interested in the ideas behind some peoples thoughts and practices when it comes to riding in winter as some people lose the will to live and don't touch a bike whereas others thrive and go do silly amounts of miles!

Please share your thoughts and take a look at my website: www.smartperformancecoaching.co.uk
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/smart.performance.coaching/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/SMART__Coaching

Comments

• I'm lucky with work so tend to be able to go riding at lunch (mixture of ride types, intervals, more constant effort or just a relaxing ride!). When the weather turns bad (rain/ice) i tend to migrate to the gym for weights/ spinning or at home abit of turbo.

I used to run abit but found that inwas prone to tweeking muscles etc (probably poor technique!!)
  • Well I used to be able to pick a decent circuit with street lights, there is a twice weekly chain gang that does the ride right through winter so that helps. Since moving house I dont have that luxury. Only time I dont ride is when its icy on the roads.
    Than I use MTB on easy trails and stuff.
    Occcasional Turbo work and sometimes use spin bikes in a gym
  • Just noticed this is in Beginners section, is that who the question is aimed at? The question seems to be aimed more at experienced winter training riders?
  • fenix
    fenix Posts: 5,437
    Turbo in the week and out at the weekend unless it's dangerously windy or icy.
  • mugensi
    mugensi Posts: 559