Layering question - windproof jersey

tenohfive
tenohfive Posts: 152
edited October 2016 in Commuting general
I'm on the hunt for a bit of a goldilocks layer.

I'm new to commuting and recently picked up a dhb ASV Race Roubaix Windslam Jersey (rolls off the tongue, right?)
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/dhb-asv-race-ro ... ve-jersey/

It's great. Love it. During the chilly morning commutes it's been perfect worn against the skin - completely locks the wind out, shrugs off light moisture, breathes well enough when working hard (and for some reason raising my head an inch when in the drops allows a brief flow of air down the front of the neck)...I really rate it. In the mornings.
When I'm returning home several hours later when it's 10 degrees warmer it's just a bit too warm right now. I feel the cold so it's not unbearable, and as we lose the last of summer I can see it being my go to layer. But not right now.

My idea now is to get something similar - a long sleeve wind resistant jersey - that's similarly effective in resisting the weather but has a bit less insulation. I can then wear it with a base layer in the mornings, but chuck the base layer in a rear pocket on the ride home. Bonus points for being able to chuck it under my Mistral when it's colder.
So far I'm struggling to see anything that's in a similar price bracket (or appear to be similarly warm to the Windslam.) Galibier (who I like) do the Le Coucher/Gino which do tick the boxes. A bit 70's wallpaper in the photo's but probably look better in person.

Anything else I should consider? Or am I approaching it the wrong way - should I look at a lightweight shell which I can layer with SS jersey and warm warmers?

Still relatively new to this so I'd appreciate the benefit of a few others autumn/winter experiences.

ETA: Just spotted the Gore Oxygen Windstopper jersey in budget. Look like a worth rival to the Galibier offerings mentioned above?

Comments