What would you buy and why?!

Daniel248
Daniel248 Posts: 3
edited October 2016 in MTB buying advice
Hi all,

New to the forum, and I'm in a dilemma. I have been riding since 2013, however I have never been too involved in spec and bike tech, as such. Only when I bought my bike in 2013 (Rockhopper Pro 29er), so my knowledge is fairly out of date. Lol

I'm now on the market for a full suspension bike and I just cannot determine which one to buy. I have narrowed it down to two, however if you know of any better please shed some light. The two bike sales in question are:

1) Giant Advance Trance 1 2017
Or
2) Scott Genius 710 2017.

OR would you recommend me something else?
I am NOT into downhill, I prefer really technical, quite fast paced trails. If I was at a downhill park I would probably be on an easy run definatly not black!!

My budget is around the £4.5k mark. By all means, I am no pro at riding and I know this is a lot of money to spend on a bike, hence why I'm so set on getting a good bike for the price I'm going to be paying.

ANY help is appreciated, thank you so much in advanced!!

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Links help, not many people will have ridden both 2017 models.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    Neither. I'd go for the Transition Scout carbon.
    The alloy framed Scout was the best trail bike I've ever ridden so the same but lighter is going to be even better.
    Out of the two you mentioned, the Trance. Great frame decent value and a standard rear shock. The Transition is better though.
  • Sorry, I would of added the links but I didn't know how this forum would react to me adding other websites to it. But here goes

https://www.evanscycles.com/scott-geniu ... e-EV286138

http://www.tredz.co.uk/.Giant-Trance-Ad ... wodZnUBEw#