Wipeout!

the_urban_spaceman
the_urban_spaceman Posts: 59
edited October 2016 in Cyclocross
Hello CXers. A newbie here looking for opinions.

Today I went out on my CX bike. It was raining and wet in west London. Whilst turning right on a roundabout, at a reasonable speed the front wheel went from under me and I wiped out reasonably hard.

No harm done but I am baffled as to how it happened.

I am certain that under the same circumstances my road bike would have handled it fine, so why did my knobbly tires at about 60% of the pressure react like I was on an ice rink?

The tires are Vittoria Cross XG Pro II Folding 700x34mm which I was running at 60 psi. I'm about 71 kg.

Crap tires? (The reviews online wouldn't indicate so). Too high psi? (Not from what I've read - but happy to be told otherwise). Or are CX tires just generally worse on the road? (Which would make absolutely no sense to me).

Would love some thoughts :D

Comments

• Prob a patch of diesel
  • Cx tires have less grip on tarmac by a long way. The contact patch is way smaller.
  • Jterrier wrote:
    Cx tires have less grip on tarmac by a long way. The contact patch is way smaller.

Okay this makes sense. I shall take care on the road, particularly in the rain. Thank you.
  • Actually also your pressures were way too high for knobblies. The tire would be balancing on its treads. Drop them down so there is more squash and deformation.
  • Jterrier wrote:
    Actually also your pressures were way too high for knobblies. The tire would be balancing on its treads. Drop them down so there is more squash and deformation.

Ah okay, I was following a guide online but would much prefer some practical advise. Are we talking 50 psi or even lower? My understanding is that with clinchers I can't go too low.
  • tgotb
    tgotb Posts: 4,714
    edited October 2016
    It's complicated...