Newbie advice

Coley10
Coley10 Posts: 14
edited September 2016 in Road beginners
Hi all I'm new to road bikes and need some advice. Haven't been on a bike in 23 years but decided to give it a shot. My bike feels very wobbly when coasting. Is this normal for a beginner or could there be something wrong with my bike.

Comments

• There could be something wrong with your bike
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles
  • What should I be looking for or should I just take it to a shop and have someone look at. I am quite mechanically minded just don't know too much about bikes. Wheels appear to be running true
  • Check the headset; round column in front of crossbar where there is a single screw. I think it should be tightened to a certain torque, but if it's loose it will cause wobble. If you go down hill and start to get shakes, it could be the dreaded 'speed wobble' which is a whole different game. Headset, tyres, brakes, wheels, frame could be the problem and it can be fatal: I had it with the bike totally out of control on the wrong side of the road - shop took it back as we deemed the frame was the issue
  • pilot_pete
    pilot_pete Posts: 2,120
    Is the headset loose, or stiff or 'notchy' when you turn the bars? That's the bearings at the top of the fork and just below the handlebar stem.

Are the wheels in line with each other when the bike is viewed directly from behind by a following rider?

Are all your spokes under tension or are any loose?

Do your wheels spin freely with no 'notchiness'? Do they have any play if you try to move them from side to side?

Are your wheels securely mounted in the frame/ forks, I.e. Are the quick releases tight?

Is it any time you are coasting or only at a certain speed? Does it get worse as speed increases? What if you put a knee against the top tube, does this stop it?

Is your frame a reputable brand or a cheap Chinese copy of something...