can I go tubeless with these wheels?

lappymatt
lappymatt Posts: 331
edited September 2016 in MTB workshop & tech
Just wondering as I am new to tubeless but fancy giving it a go. My wheels are Mavic En323 Disc 23c 27.5" 32h.

Comments

• larkim
    larkim Posts: 2,474
    I've gone tubeless on no-name Decathlon cheap as chips wheels. Gorilla tape, stans fluid and valves, tubeless ready tyres and away you go. Can't see why it would be any different on those rims.
    2015 Canyon Nerve AL 6.0 (son #1's)
    2011 Specialized Hardrock Sport Disc (son #4s)
    2013 Decathlon Triban 3 (red) (mine)
    2019 Hoy Bonaly 26" Disc (son #2s)
    2018 Voodoo Bizango (mine)
    2018 Voodoo Maji (wife's)
  • JBA
    JBA Posts: 2,852
    larkin has just given you the items required. No more research is needed. :)

We did my mates wheels outside the bike shop at Cannock Chase last Friday. It took about 40 minutes to do both wheels using Gorilla Tape, Stan's valves and Stan's Fluid.
    A single layer of tape around the rim with about a 6" overlap, make a tiny hole where the valve hole is in the rim, push the valve through and fit the retaining nut(making sure the rubber 'O' rings are in place), hang the wheel up, fit one side of the tyre, pour in about half a cup of fluid, fit the other side of the tyre and pump it up.
    The last step was made much easier using a floor pump with a high volume boost tank borrowed from the shop.

It actually much less daunting than you think it is.
    “Life has been unfaithful
    And it all promised so so much”

Giant Trance 2 27.5 2016 ¦ Sonder Broken Road 2021¦ Giant Revolt Advanced 2 2019 ¦ Giant Toughtroad SLR 1 2019 ¦ Giant Anthem 3 2015 ¦ Specialized Myka Comp FSR 2009
  • Yeah I meant research on how to actually do it :D

Thanks for detailing it! 6 inch overlap though?
  • larkim