Big Mistakes in GCN Di2 video

bernithebiker
bernithebiker Posts: 4,148
edited September 2016 in Road buying advice
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P5EEd7eRUFY

At 2.58. He says there is no micro-adjust function for the front derailleur, but there is. Go into big/big and press the trim button. You can now trim the front der. with the left lever. At 3.25 they show the Low Limit adjuster, but this is NOT IT! It is the support screw. The low limit adjuster is to the left.

You'd think they'd get the basics right....! Anyone screwing away on the screw they show as being the low limit is liable to drill/screw a hole in their seat tube!!

Comments

• They have a target audience that probably aren't that knowledgeable about cycling
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles
  • imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    Not worth getting excited about...
  • Imposter wrote:

If I was a newbie and I screwed the support screw into my seat tube, whilst wondering why the cage wasn't moving, thereby causing at the least a nice indentation and cracked paint, at the worst a hole in my frame, I'd get fairly 'excited'!! :|
  • bobmcstuff
    bobmcstuff Posts: 11,400
    Point it out to them/under the video? Not much point doing it on here.
  • bobmcstuff wrote:
    Point it out to them/under the video? Not much point doing it on here.

Yep, done that. I'm sure plenty of people here use, watch, enjoy GCN videos, they're generally very good, but maybe worth mentioning that they aren't infallible? Especially when it comes to tinkering with your own bike.....
  • A bit like using WD40 and fairy liquid to clean your bike? Dont get me wrong they make great videos but I guess we all make mistakes.... sometimes...
    Paracyclist
    @Bigmitch_racing
    2010 Specialized Tricross (commuter)
    2014 Whyte T129-S
    2016 Specialized Tarmac Ultegra Di2
    Big Mitch - YouTube
  • imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    BigMitch41 wrote: