Which Helmet?

dannbodge
dannbodge Posts: 1,152
edited August 2016 in Road buying advice
Hello.

I've been riding for a couple of years now using a cheap MET helmet that I bought from halfords after I bought my bike.

Now I've been doing more and more riding I want to get a new helmet and don't know which to get (current one isn't very comfy and doesn't have enough ventilation)

I was looking at the Kask Mojito, Kask Infinity and Lazer Z1 as I can get a fairly good deal on them.

However I saw Planet X had released a couple of new "Carnac" ones and with their sale they are ridiculously cheap.

Has anyone used a Carnac one before or know of anywhere there may be reviews etc as I'm now undecided across 5 rather than 3.

Comments

• Also worth adding any 'MIPS' helmet to your buy list
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles
  • ugo.santalucia
    ugo.santalucia Posts: 28,310
    Giro Aeon is one of the lightest on the market, with a good fit and often on offer at a "reasonable" price. If you cycle long distance a light helmet helps your neck feeling less sore
    left the forum March 2023
  • Wheelspinner
    Wheelspinner Posts: 6,660
    Helmet is one of the few bike things I'd *never* buy on-line without knowing exactly which model and size to buy. You have to try them on for fit.

I can't wear anything made by Kask, Bell, or POC, just the wrong shape entirely for my head. Giro are OK, Lazer are good, and even a Scott branded one was quite comfy.

Try them, and buy from your LBS, get some help with making sure they fit and are adjusted properly for you.
    Open One+ BMC TE29 Seven 622SL On One Scandal Cervelo RS
  • lostboysaint
    lostboysaint Posts: 4,250
    Wot he said. Fit, above all else!
    Trail fun - Transition Bandit
    Road - Wilier Izoard Centaur/Cube Agree C62 Disc
    Allround - Cotic Solaris
  • dannbodge
    I was planning on trying on all the ones I could, but finding somewhere that stocks them round here is a bit tricky.
  • dannbodge