Snapped hanger on new bike

wimbedon99
wimbedon99 Posts: 29
edited August 2016 in Road general
Hi Folks,

I'm new to both road cycling and the forum and am looking for some advice re. a snapped rear hanger.

I was out today on a bike that I purchased new about 4 weeks ago when everything just locked up. When I looked, I realised the rear hanger had snapped and it led to a buckled wheel, bent front chain ring, damaged rear derailleur and some paint damage. Not sure how I managed to get away unscathed but I did. I was cycling on a slight incline, had not changed gear and the bike has not had any knocks. In fact, she's received better care than my car!!

Anyhow, the shop have the bike now and they said they will look to see if the work can be covered under the warranty. My view is that there should be no other option! I've lost a bit of faith in my choice of bike (Cannonade Synapse) now but I'm hoping the shop will do the right thing.

The questions I have are:

1: Does anyone have any idea what could have caused the failure?
2: Where do I stand if the shop say they won't carry out the work under warranty?

Cheers

Comments

• !. JRA
    2. Outside the shop waving a wad of money
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles
  • Garry H
    Garry H Posts: 6,639
    Usual cause of that is user error.
  • bristolpete
    bristolpete Posts: 2,255
    Tricky one, but without stoking the fire, it could be that the mech was bent / misalinged out of the box since purchase and the 4 weeks of use have led to this, However, it is hearsay for us to write this at best.