Fox fork servicing - difficult?

reformedfatty
reformedfatty Posts: 543
edited September 2016 in MTB workshop & tech
I moved house about 6 weeks ago and in the new place I've been hanging my bikes on wall hangers by the front wheel (like this http://bicyclebuysell.com/images/2014/06/1402367492.jpg), and I've noticed my full suss has dripped some green liquid onto the floor beneath it. Couldn't see where it was coming from when I gave it a brief look, but the brake fluid is red, the rear shock is a rockshox monarch and nearly new... and the fox 32 rlc forks were second hand, and contain green fluid!

I'm guessing when I look closer it'll prove to be the fork. I've never done fork servicing before, one for me or send it off to mojo / tf tuned? I'm happy with pretty much all other aspects of bike maintenance - building bikes up from a frame / bleeding brakes etc, but taking apart forks is new territory to me.

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    The only parts that may leak are the O-ring for the damper top cap or the dust seal on the stanchions, either are a very easy DIY job.

You need to wipe the fork with some loo roll and find out where the leak is from!
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • Damper top cap is where it's coming from.

Guessing this is what I need?

http://www.mojostore.co.uk/fox-maintena ... 2x18535483
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Not if it's coming from the top cap. That's a wiper seal kit.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • The Rookie
    Have you checked the cap is tight?

Have you removed the cap to check the O-ring?

Best case is 5 minutes work, Worst case a new O-ring for the top cap.