Cannondale Synapse Tiagra v 105

IamPlod
IamPlod Posts: 23
edited August 2016 in Road buying advice
Hi,I'm relatively new to road cycling having had a mountain bike for the last five years. I am looking to buy a new road bike on the cycle to work scheme and and it's a choice between the Cannondale Synapse Tiagra or the 105.
There is about £130 between the two. Am I likely to notice much difference between these two bikes? I'm considering the Tiagra at the moment as I'll be able to buy more gear to use.
Any thoughts on these two bikes also welcome.
Many thanks,
Mike

Comments

• germcevoy
    germcevoy Posts: 414
    Unless you ride the two back to back then you will be hard pressed to notice any difference. Wise to go for the cheaper option and use the change for kit.
  • bendertherobot
    bendertherobot Posts: 11,684
    But Tiagra is 10 speed limiting upgrades. And the 105 has better wheels (and actually ok ones) and THAT chainset.

Get the 105.
    My blog: http://www.roubaixcycling.cc (kit reviews and other musings)
    https://twitter.com/roubaixcc
    Facebook? No. Just say no.
  • germcevoy
    Didn't realise there were wheel differences.
  • bendertherobot
    Yeah, maddux v aksium and ugly fsa v Cannondale si hollowgramsexy
  • nwallace
    nwallace Posts: 1,465
    Got one a couple of years back, went for the lower 105 spec that was on offer (105/Tiagra mix) because of the colour scheme...
    Wasn't a big difference between wheels then, and well it was Green, Black and White and I can upgrade the rest...

So far all I've done is bought a 10 Speed Ultegra cassette for when the 32-12 isn't sensible, happy enough with the Tiagra brakes, the R500 wheels and the cockpit. And wheeled it into the LBS to get the cables changed, one look at the routing...
    Oh and once the Lugano's were worn out Conti GP4000s' went on definitely worth it.