Cannondale Synapse Tiagra v 105

IamPlod
IamPlod Posts: 23
edited August 2016 in Road beginners
Hi I'm relatively new to road cycling having had a mountain bike for the last five years. I am looking to buy a new road bike on the cycle to work scheme and and it's a choice between the Cannondale Synapse Tiagra or the 105.
There is about £130 between the two. Am I likely to notice much difference between these two bikes? I'm considering the Tiagra at the moment as I'll be able to buy more gear to use.

Comments

• On the pure practicle terms the 105 is 11 speed and the new Tiagra is 10 speed.

Street price difference between the 2 groups sets is not much (about £50-£80) from what I can see.

The 105 is very well regraded, and perceived and the lower of Shimano's top end groupsets, whilst Tiagra is the top tier of their more affordable groupsets.

Looking at the specs on the Evans website (and assuming you are looking at the disc brake version), there is even less difference as both bikes use the same brakeset.

I would advise that you try and find local shops that have both in and test ride them.

My gut feel based on specs and price alone would be to go with the Tiagra setup. You can allways upgrade the other bits later if you feel the need.
  • IamPlod
    IamPlod Posts: 23
    Thanks for your advice, I'm going to hopefully road test both bikes later this week and see which suits me best. Leaning towards the 105 at the moment but I guess without a test ride I won't know,
    Cheers,
    Mike
  • Problem is that the 10 speed Tiagra isn't upgradable to 11 speed 105. Whereas if you got the 105 you can bit by bit upgrade to Dura Ace if you wanted. 105 is generally regarded as where the Shimano groupsets get good - so I would go with that.
  • keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123