Wheel Advice for Big Rider

philkeeble
philkeeble Posts: 109
edited August 2016 in Road buying advice
My son-in-law is an athletic 90kg+ and 6'4"+ and is a powerfully built rider. He has a Trek Domane 4.3 and is repeatedly buckling the rear wheel; in fact the front has now started to go also. They've been trued up twice already, but the problem persists. He has form : he had the same problem with his last bike (Spesh Allez)! What advice would the forum have for a replacement set of wheels to get around this problem? He commutes regularly on the bike, so the problem does need resolution.
Cheers,
Phil, in Inverurie

Comments

• As another big rider I'd say there's something missing from your story. I weigh 89 kg, am a track sprinter as well as active road racer and commuter. I've snapped chains, folded chainrings, and broken handlebars. I've been riding and racing since 1986 and have never buckled a rear wheel. I ride 25c or larger rear tires because pinch flats are a problem on the road. Back in the day a stock wheel would need to get trued and tightened up after the first few hundred miles but today I can expect to buy a pretty normal wheel and have it go a season before it even needs trueing. Is he commuting with heavy panniers, or on off-road surfaces? For what it's worth my most used wheels are Fulcrum Racing 7s, but I doubt they're any better than the stock Bontragers on his Trek, as I've ridden several pairs of those in the past as well.
  • lostboysaint
    lostboysaint Posts: 4,250
    I'm the same height and weight as your son and have handbuilts. Velocity A23 on Miche hubs and 32 DT Swiss Comp spokes. Weight is fine, stiffness is excellent and they've been absolutely trouble free. Also a very good deal at around £300
    Trail fun - Transition Bandit
    Road - Wilier Izoard Centaur/Cube Agree C62 Disc
    Allround - Cotic Solaris