2015 Tarmac Pro Disc Race vs 2016 Cervelo R3

wayne93117
wayne93117 Posts: 6
edited August 2016 in Road buying advice
I live in Northern CA where most all of my rides will involve climbing, descents and flats. I'm new to road biking with quite a bit of mountain biking experience. I have an opp to buy the Tarmac for $3k which has less than 300 miles on it. After riding all of the Cervelo's I really like the R3 (R5 would be great, but $5k is out of range). Coming from mountain biking I like the idea of of disk, mostly because having done a town of downhill, I have a strong grasp on how to make them effective for me when I ride.

With either bike I'll be going through a fitting process with a local shop.

Which bike would you guys pursue?

Comments

• bump
  • slowmart
    slowmart Posts: 4,516
    The real world benefit of discs for me is the wet weather braking on carbon wheels. However your still limited by the limits of your tyres when you apply the brakes.

I don't the cervelo but I can highly recommend the Tarmac but you don't reference the component parts or the quality of the frame. Do you plan on upgrades in the future? Are you happy with the wheels on the Tarmac as you are limited to what wheels are suitable. If they have Roval CL's which are superb I'd say the Tarmac is a no brainer.

The only aspect which may disturb that sentiment is the frame quality of the cervelo but then I'm not a good enough rider to tell the difference between the quality of carbon used on a frame which means it goes two ways, if the carbon is lower quality the parts should be higher quality or vice versa.

Bottom line, it's down to personal preference as no one makes a bad bike at the price point your thinking of.
    “Give a man a fish and feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and feed him for a lifetime. Teach a man to cycle and he will realize fishing is stupid and boring”

Desmond Tutu