Chain slipping and skipping

Boroboydan
Boroboydan Posts: 8
edited August 2016 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi there I have recently bought a mountain bike carera kraken from Halfords and the chain keeps skipping jamming coming of when changing gears . I been to halford they made slight adjustment to the gears but said there's nothing wrong when clearly is !! I phoned then up as problem still occurred and they said bring it down again I could be changing gears wrong ? I never new you could change them wrong I was just after advice on what it could be or what to say as I am new to all this thanks in advance Dan

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    You certainly can 'change them wrong', however it doesn't sound like that, it sounds like its a setup issue.

You should always let off pedalling torque when shifting, especially at the front and you should avoiding 'cross chaining' where the chain makes a big angle by using an extreme gear at the front and the opposite extreme gear at the rear.

You could try parktool.com and look at indexing gears and learning to DIY, if you are doing proper off-roading frequent fettling may be needed and that gets expensive if you have to take it somewhere every time.

Please clarify what you mean by 'skipping' as it means different things to different people. Also the jamming.
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • The chain must jam on something and won't peddle no more unless I go backwards on the peddels also what I mean by skipping is that when I change down Or up it peddles but makes a clicking sound and doesn't move the wheels cheers bit of a bad explanation cheers
  • When I change gear and go to peddel the peddels slip down and I nearly come of the bike
  • drlodge
    drlodge Posts: 4,826
    Are you referring to changing gear at the rear, the front or both?