First Road Bike - entry level alloy or carbon?

Timmyandrews88
Timmyandrews88 Posts: 3
edited August 2016 in Road buying advice
Hi,

I'm new to cycling and looking to buy my first road bike via the Cyclescheme. I am looking for something I can ride in some sprint / olympic triathlons, and some training / weekend rides - nothing too serious.

I have narrowed the search down to 2 options:

1. BH Sphene Tiagra (2015)

2. Ribble Evo Pro

I have been quoted £400 for the BH by my LBS as it is the last one they have and it has been discontinued. Its an alloy frame with tiagra rear derailleur, but microshift shifters / front derailleur. Weight is about 9.7kg.

For an extra £200, Ribble are offering the Evo Pro this week only for £600. The Ribble has a carbon frame, with full Tiagra groupset. The weight is c. 8.2kg.

The Ribble to me seems like a good deal, but is it worth the extra money to go for carbon? Will I notice the weight difference? And is the Tiagra mix on the BH a problem? I think the BH is a great price, I just don't want to outgrow it as soon as I've started.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• sandyballs
    sandyballs Posts: 577
    Ribble every time, I own one and a Giant TCR Advanced and cannot tell the difference in frame stiffness and ride quality. Would not buy anything with microshift shifters, but that's personal preference.
  • cedargreen
    cedargreen Posts: 189
    Hi,

If this is your first road bike I would worry less about frame material and weight. The most important thing is size and whether it fits you, and whether the frame geometry suits you. Also suitable gearing depending on your level of fitness and the distance and terrain you'll be riding.
  • perfectmark
    perfectmark Posts: 117