New chain installation problem

alexul
alexul Posts: 69
edited July 2016 in Workshop
Hi all,
My 11 speed Shimano 105 chain reached over 0.5 stretch so I said to change it with a similar one. It is my first time doing it and everything went well almost to the end. Pushed the pin through and before cutting it I realized that the outer plates is leading the inner one. The direction is good (the writings on the outside) but Shimano says that it should be vice versa for extra security. Since I didn't cut the pin yet I was thinking that maybe I can push it back out, reverse the chain and push it back in. I know that you can not reuse the pins but that's a when you insert a pin from outside and push it all the way through the other side. I want to pull it back out and then insert it again. Do you think it is safe?
And if not do I have another alternative besides buying a new chain? I still have 10 links from this chain

Comments

• Garry H
    Garry H Posts: 6,639
    Use a quick link type thing. Example

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/sram ... lsrc=aw.ds

Although I'm not sure I entirely understand the problem...
  • Semantik
    Semantik Posts: 537
    How far have you pushed it in? And when you say you haven't cut the pin are you using one of the special rivets with the bullet tip that you break off? If so you will be struggling trying to push that back through.
  • alexul
    Yes I'm using one of those pointed rivets. It's fully in.
    So my other options are either to look for a compatible 11 spd quick link or find 2 new rivets and take one of the spare chain links. From my experience with the LBS they never stock small cheap products, probably their answer will be to buy a whole new chain. I will try my luck though
  • svetty
    svetty Posts: 1,904
    Just snap the extra off and run it like that - it will be fine :D
    FFS! Harden up and grow a pair :D
  • Garry H
    You can order a quick link off the internet thing.
  • jermas
    jermas Posts: 484