HELP

Janiemac123
Janiemac123 Posts: 10
edited July 2016 in Road buying advice
Hi I'm new to this. Asking for help regarding a trek 1000 road bike. Bought this second hand to see how I would get on with road biking. I love it. Now wanting a new bike thinking of buying a carerrs zelos. Can anyone offer advice please

Comments

• imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    I would hang on to your Trek until you've got a bit more budget.
  • Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    I cannot see what on earth the Carrera offers over the Trek. What are you hoping to improve upon given the Trek's performance? Bear in mind that if you are new to this then the biggest improvement to come will be as a result of you riding a bike, not a particular bike.

Cycling can get very expensive but once you have bought a good selection of kit that works for you then you don't really need to spend much more. Have you got decent shorts, gloves, bselayers, etc???
  • Thanks guys for replying. Husband says I'm being a snob wanting a shiny new bike !! Yes got all base layers and gloves etc. There is a Pendleton in halfords for not much more than the zelos. My trek bike goes, just looks a tad old possibly like me
  • ForumNewbie
    ForumNewbie Posts: 1,664
    Thanks guys for replying. Husband says I'm being a snob wanting a shiny new bike !! Yes got all base layers and gloves etc. There is a Pendleton in halfords for not much more than the zelos. My trek bike goes, just looks a tad old possibly like me
    Nothing wrong with wanting a shiny new bike, but it would be better to buy, or save up to buy, a new better bike as regards performance and comfort, than your Trek.
  • So therefore what do I buy ?? Not into spending thousands just in case I give up !! All advice is welcome cheers
  • imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    So therefore what do I buy ?? Not into spending thousands just in case I give up !! All advice is welcome cheers