£40 burning a hole

Tashman
Tashman Posts: 3,479
edited August 2016 in Road buying advice
I'm a newbie and have just got a shiny but not so new Defy 1. This is pretty much all i have apart from a helmet, puncture repair and a small pump.
My question is i have a £40 voucher for Amazon. Is it worth buying from there? and if so, what to buy?
I'm picking up some Shimano A530 pedals later as I currently don't have cleated shoes.
I'll be riding primarily for fitness/knee rehab

Comments

• singleton
    singleton Posts: 2,523
    Once you have a bike, I think my priorities would be:
    Pedals / Shoes
    Spare tubes / pump
    Bottle cages and water bottle
    Clothing to allow you to ride in all conditions
    Lights
  • pottssteve
    pottssteve Posts: 4,069
    You can get a decent pair of bib shorts - will make your ride more comfortable.
    Some spare parts - tubes? New tyres, if required? Multi-tool?

Welcome to the bottomless pit of cycle-related spending :)
    Head Hands Heart Lungs Legs
  • Man Of Lard
    Man Of Lard Posts: 903
    What else do you (think that you) need?

Lights? Only if you're out and about in the dark (although a flashing rear might get you noticed by the driver who hadn't otherwise spotted you)
    Bottle & cage?
    Rainwear?
    Glasses?
    Gloves?
    GPS?

Is it need vs want?
  • keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123
    Given the weather at the moment I'd have thought that bottles and bottle cages would be an essential purchase. I use Camelbak Podium bottles and some Lezyne Flow cages which have a grip like a gorilla, but the world's your lobster really.
  • arlowood
    arlowood Posts: 2,561
    My suggestion would be a decent track pump. Invaluable for topping up pressures pre-ride and also when switching or fitting new tyres.

I've had a Lezyne Floor Pump for several years and it's still going strong -can't fault it

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Lezyne-Steel-F ... rds=Lezyne
  • tangled_metal
    tangled_metal Posts: 4,021