Scott Addict build, 105 or Ultegra?

Ackie
Ackie Posts: 22
edited July 2016 in Road buying advice
Got hold of a lovely 2014 Scott Addict 10 frameset.
Budget constraints mean I can only go to shimano 105.
Should I wait and save up for Ultegra, or just spend it on nicer wheels?

Comments

• bsharp77
    bsharp77 Posts: 533
    I've had Ultegra 6800, Dura Ace 9001 and on my current build I went for 105 5800.
    I'm blown away at just how good 105 11 speed is - if i was blindfolded i probably couldn't tell the difference between all 3!!

Its more than good enough for me. Ive been running it for 6 months without so much as one bad shift - everything feels light and smooth, it is a big jump up from 105 5700.

Save the money and use it for nicer wheels - thats whats next on my list! :D
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Have you considered Sram? They are usually much lighter than the shimano price equivalent and considering you're building an addict I would think you wouldctry and keep it as light as possible
  • Ackie
    Ackie Posts: 22
    Thanks for the replies.
    Good to hear real world feedback regarding the performance of 105. I'm definitely leaning that way now.
    You are right the Addict does cry out for a nice lightweight build. Hence my deliberation. Sub 7kg quite possible without too much spending...?
    I would try SRAM but have a 105 Stages Powermeter so I wouldn't want to lose the ability to use it on my Scott.
  • Anonymous
    Ackie wrote:
    Thanks for the replies.
    Good to hear real world feedback regarding the performance of 105. I'm definitely leaning that way now.
    You are right the Addict does cry out for a nice lightweight build. Hence my deliberation. Sub 7kg quite possible without too much spending...?
    I would try SRAM but have a 105 Stages Powermeter so I wouldn't want to lose the ability to use it on my Scott.

Thats ok. You could keep the chainset 105 and change the rest to sram.
  • Grill
    Grill Posts: 5,610