Making improvements to a bike?

cantaloupe
cantaloupe Posts: 34
edited July 2016 in Road buying advice
So I am new to cycling, have been looking at the Giant Defy 0 Aluxx £799

My question is if I buy this bike what improvements can be made to it?

ie can I swap out the brakes for a set of TRP R960's?

can I swap the wheels for DT Swiss RR21 DB Dicut wheelset?

ext......

Comments

• imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    Just ride it and make improvements to your fitness...
  • mrb123
    mrb123 Posts: 4,787
    Why not buy a bike that you're happy with?
  • cantaloupe
    cantaloupe Posts: 34
    I dont want to improve it right away, I'm thinking future upgrades. how long or how many miles before thinking of upgrading to carbon frame.

I think an alu frame is my best option for a first road bike.

thanks for the input.
  • grenw
    grenw Posts: 804
    I have the same bike. My favourite saddle (SE Flite) plus a set of Conti GP4000s and a brake upgrade to Ultegras were what I changed within the first month.

All made a noticeable difference.
  • jgsi
    jgsi Posts: 5,062
    You are new .. Who says a carbon frame is an upgrade?
  • londoncommuter
    londoncommuter Posts: 1,550
    If I had my time again I'd make sure my first bike could be transitioned into a great winter bike when you get the bug and buy a new "best bike". If you get a decent aluminium bike that can take 25c tyres with proper mudguards (and has disks if that appeals), you can then relegate it to winter duties.

I imagine the alternative route of replacing bits would could cost you a fortune and you'd still have a bike you're not happy with.
  • fenix
    fenix Posts: 5,437
    I'd just ride it until you've saved up enough money for your next bike.

I've had my best bike for about 5 years now and theres nothing around that I could justify spending on.

Ride it and see if there's anything you absolutely can't get on with. Then change that.