Pumping up Continental Ultra Sport tyres?

Lyndonius
Lyndonius Posts: 3
edited June 2016 in Road buying advice
At risk of sounding like an idiot but im new to cycling. It says on my tyres (Continental Ultra Sport)120psi so what should I put in them? I have pushed the pump to 50 psi and they are solid as a rock! I was hoping to go out for my first spin tommorow on this Cannondale R 1000 I bought but I would like to get the tyres inflated correctly. I had to spin this threaded piece of metal right down to pump in any air at all at there was no mention of that!

I love this bike and cant wait to try it out. Its old so I hope I dont experience any issues with it especially with the gears as they cost a bomb. Its light as hell and looks awesome for a 2002 model though!

Please help! :(

Comments

• DeVlaeminck
    DeVlaeminck Posts: 9,031
    Well if your tyres are really rock solid on 50psi I would suggest your gauge is faulty !

For 23mm tyres most would recommend somewhere between 90 and 110 psi - that is maybe 10 psi lower than most would have recommended 10 years ago. Your weight, road conditions, weather will play a part. If you are on 25mm tyres you might go 10psi lower. That's a starting point - you may find some recommend a touch lower - I wouldn't argue necessarily but the above is what I would recommend.

50psi is too low really - you'll get pinch flats more easily and I would expect handling to feel a bit off.
    [Castle Donington Ladies FC - going up in '22]
  • Lyndonius
    Lyndonius Posts: 3
    Many thanks!
  • daniel_b
    daniel_b Posts: 11,875
    Lyndonius wrote: