Did Halfords get my bike build right? Bizango

SickSnail
SickSnail Posts: 11
edited June 2016 in MTB general
Hi. I am new to mountain biking. I have never owned a half decent bike with any kind of suspension before, and my ability to tell whether a bike is set up properly or not is limited!

Two days ago I picked up my VooDoo Bizango 29er. I rode it today, and actually I am very happy with it. I've read some horror stories about Halfords though and also some things to check to make sure they have built your bike correctly, and as a result I did have one concern.

The back tyre comes much closer to the frame on one side than the other. I have pics (below). You can fit your finger easily between the right-hand-side of the tyre and the frame, but there's only about half a centimeter gap on the left.

PIC 1: Close up of gap on left
GapOnLeft.jpg

PIC 2: Showing GAP on left from above
LEFT.jpg

PIC 3: Showing GAP on right from above
RIGHT.jpg

PIC 4: Muck collects on the frame after first ride because of the closeness of the gap
MUCK.jpg

I'm wondering if it's something that needs to be looked at, or am I worrying about nothing?

I did make a video (link here) if that helps, but it was hard to get the camera in to show it. The rear wheel looks like it spins straight in the video but to the eye it wobbles a bit, not outrageously though, but not an insignificant amount either.

Grateful to hear your views!

Comments

• rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    Fairly normal. Most frames have asymmetric chain stays.
    Is the wobble in the rim or tyre? Often tyres have a bit of wobble in them and it's perfectly fine.
  • JBA
    JBA Posts: 2,852
    That does seem very close, but may be normal for that bike.
    Pop in to Halfords and have a look at another Bizango for comparison.
    “Life has been unfaithful
    And it all promised so so much”