Mavic D521 Rims how long can I go?

Klang180
Klang180 Posts: 22
edited June 2016 in MTB workshop & tech
HEllo

Long time since i made a post. Basically I have an old 2000 GT Arrowhead with the same wheels and rims as from new, Mavic D521 on XT hubs. I noticed quite recently that the rim on the rear wheel has quite a sharp groove in the rim indicating some serious wear. I think in the past this has been due to going right down to the metal of brake blocks not to mention the fact I have had this bike for 16years. I haven't ridden it massively in that time but after 16 years of semi-regular riding I can appreciate the rim might be worn through.

My question is how dangerous is this? I am looking for a replacement rim on ebay and will get one soon but in the meantime is it too unsafe to ride the bike? What is the likely outcome of this worn rim if i were to take it out on a long (road based) ride and it failed? I have been riding it like this for many months/years it seems without worry about it but having noticed it now I am scared stiff that it will blowout at 20mph causing some serious face planting.

Anyone got any experience of rim failure, riding a worn rim or even Mavic D521s? My understanding is that these wheels are very strong and certainly they have proven to be the case so far but am i pushing it just a little too much?

Might not matter but here are some more details in case it can be factored in?

Rider weight 87kg
Continental SPort contact II 1.6" tyres
Inflated to around 60PSI
Used on road and loose gravel.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    If it fails it can be catastrophic, the tyre pressure pushes the broken part of the rim out and that can catch the brakes or frame.
    Mavic rims usually have a wear indicator in the braking surface once the surrounding metal has worn away until that disappears its really time to change the frame, using disc brake rims means you won't have that wear indicator.