Buying a road bike. Originally up to €1000 (or maybe a bit more)

jorsteen
jorsteen Posts: 3
edited May 2016 in Road buying advice
Hi all!

I have been riding mountain bikes back in Norway for a couple of years, but have always wanted a road bike in addition to the mountain bike. I really feel like buying one now, and I do have the means to do so. I am currently in Munich, but will be bringing the bike back with me to Norway at the end of summer.

I do however have a bit of trouble choosing a bike, I guess always wanting what is one step up in terms of quality (and also price :( ) is getting a bit to me. :D

Use for me is mostly hobby, usually I will do 3 x 2-2,5 hours runs on my mountain bike every week, riding with my friends and family. I also want to attend some races/sportives, which are not too serious and open to everyone with all kinds of bikes.

I don't really know too much about road bikes, so I really need some recommendations. Budget was originally set to €1000 but if what I get for stretching it a bit is worth it, I can go as far up as €1500.

Just from looking at reviews I have been looking at Canyon (cheaper endurance range), Specialized Allez (also a store here in Munich has a Secteur 2013 model available for €700 and it is in my size, maybe an option?), Bianchi Impulso (I really fancy this one, but it is also the most expensive by quite a long shot with about €1500).

And then of course, there is the endless debate of discs vs non discs. I usually do not ride much in the wet (as I said this is a hobby), but from my mountain bike I am used to hydraulic disc brakes and I am a little concerned about whether there will be a big difference in experienced braking control with cantilevers vs discs on the road bike?
I was in the Bianchi store in Munich, and the guy there recommended to give road racing 2-3 years before hopping on the disc wagon, as the options for the discs especially in this price range are still quite limited.