options for 6600 39/53 9 speed? Switch to compact or replace cog?

peanstein
peanstein Posts: 6
edited May 2016 in Road buying advice
I'm not too experienced with this and have come up with bits and pieces about options when it comes to swappoing out the rear cog.
I'd like to either convert to a compact crank or replace the rear cog to give me similar gearing a compact would(if that's even possible)

I think if switching cranks, I think I'd need a 6650 correct and new cog? what about rear derailleur?
If I have the option to simply get a new cog w/different gearing, what options do I have?

Knees are not what they used to be and need to ease the burden on them by spinning a bit easier up hills.

Any help would be appreciated.

Comments

• Wirral_paul
    Wirral_paul Posts: 2,476
    Well worth doing to make life easier in the hills - no point struggling with big gears (and especially you should ignore the "advice" from anyone who says you should stick with 53/39 just because that's what racing bikes are supposed to come with). I'm a strong rider but have deliberately specified a 50/34 on my new bike with my local hills being STEEP!!

Worth looking at the 6750 chainset also - both 6650 or 6750 should be a straight swap. You'll need to take a link or two out of the chain too though
  • ugo.santalucia
    ugo.santalucia Posts: 28,273
    What I did with Shimano 9 speed was to replace the rear mech with a MTBike 9 speed one (needs to be 9 speed) and then use MTB cassettes, which give you up to 36 T capacity... 39 x 36 is a pretty small gear.

Bear in mind MTBike derailleurs have no barrel adjuster, so you need an in line barrel adjuster too, not a big deal, but worth pointing it out... it's less expense than a new chainset, as the RD is 20-30 quid and a 9 speed cassette is 10-15... the barrel adjuster is 5 quid or so
    left the forum March 2023
  • jomoj
    jomoj Posts: 777