Cassette cog lockring

its_woody_uk
its_woody_uk Posts: 24
edited May 2016 in Workshop
I recently purchased a Cannondale Supersix and have decided to replace the stock wheels (Shimano RS11) with some Fulcrum Quattros.

I'm a mechanical novice but have looked at YouTube and it looks a reasonably simple task. My problem is, try as I might I cannot shift the lockring. Does anybody have any ideas?

Do I need to take it to a real man?

Comments

• keezx
    keezx Posts: 1,322
    Buy a Shimano lockring key and chainwhip (not expensive), and watch youtube how to do it.
  • Keezx wrote:
    Buy a Shimano lockring key and chainwhip (not expensive), and watch youtube how to do it.

I've tried that Keezx. Chainwhip 2 o'clock, lockring and spanner 10 o'clock but I just can't get it to move.
  • cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    Get some extra leverage on it. Length of tubing? I find a garden hoe over the spanner makes it much easier.
  • arlowood
    arlowood Posts: 2,561
    I've always gone down the route of using a lockring removal tool that can take a socket set square drive lever bar. Something like this

21HKmeX-gyL.jpg

Available as above from Amazon

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Icetoolz-casse ... ng+remover

But similar types can be had from other sources.

You can then attach the removal tool like a normal socket spanner and that should give you more that enough leverage and will also be a safer way to apply the removal force than something like an open-ended spanner. Too many damaged and bruised knuckles when the open-ender slips as you apply pressure
  • drlodge
    drlodge Posts: 4,826
    cougie wrote:
    Get some extra leverage on it. Length of tubing? I find a garden hoe over the spanner makes it much easier.

Use a 12" adjustable spanner here, anything less won't cut it. These things can be on pretty tight and worse if corrosion has set it.
    WyndyMilla Massive Attack | Rourke 953 | Condor Italia 531 Pro | Boardman CX Pro | DT Swiss RR440 Tubeless Wheels