Mavic Ksyrium Elite vs. Bontrager Race Light vs. Fulcrum Quattro LG

m1g
m1g Posts: 11
edited May 2016 in Road buying advice
Mavic Ksyrium Elite vs Bontrager Race Light vs Fulcrum Quattro LG??

There are surprisingly few reviews of the Fulcrums (the new ones) on the net (?).

Mavic and Bontrager about the same price and Fulcrum nearly half the price...I want wheels with for a good fit with 25mm tires (17mm inside width?).

Comments

• bendertherobot
    bendertherobot Posts: 11,684
    There are a few reviews, but of the non LG version. My review is here:

https://roubaixcycling.cc/2016/04/15/fu ... dget-aero/

They're very good. That said, the Elite are no doubt a better wheel overall if that's your budget. I've no experience of the Bontrager.
    My blog: http://www.roubaixcycling.cc (kit reviews and other musings)
    https://twitter.com/roubaixcc
    Facebook? No. Just say no.
  • trek_dan
    trek_dan Posts: 1,366
    I've got a set of the Bontragers. Pretty sure there rebranded DT Swiss. I'm not into wheel mumbo jumbo but they seem fine to me. Keep a look out on Ebay as they come up pretty often brand new for cheap, mine were £170. They come on high end Treks, but chances are if you're buying a 5k Emonda you'll be putting something a bit nicer than alloy training wheels on. The absolute best thing about them is every tyre I've tried are an absolute breeze to fit clincher tyres to, unlike a lot of handbuilt rims on the market and factory Shimano/Campag wheels.
  • dinyull
    dinyull Posts: 2,979
    Having owned a set of Mavic Cosmic Elite for a couple of years, I'd advise you to do a search on Mavic Death Squeal.
  • m1g
    m1g Posts: 11
    Dinyull wrote:
    ...do a search on Mavic Death Squeal.

:shock: I will, my guess is that it´s not a good thing...
  • JesseD
    JesseD Posts: 1,961
    I have the Quattro LG's and I like them, light (compared to what I was used to), stiff under load, look good, cheap, ticks all the boxes for me.