This is my budget. But...

splitpea
splitpea Posts: 11
edited May 2016 in MTB buying advice
Hi.

So I haven't ridden in about 12 years and Everything has changed.
I'm looking to buy a strong, heavy duty xc /light free ride bike and my budget is £1000.
I'm 6'4" and weigh a good 16stone.

I was looking at a virus sentier vrs but I need to get some experienced advice, which is why I'm here- I'm a noob again.

Basically- what would any of you buy if you were in my position? Thanks :D

Comments

• rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    You're almost certainly going to need an XL size frame which really limits options.
    I'd look for a Nukeproof Mega AM, Specialized Enduro (or enduro evo) or the Giant Reign. All of these pedal well enough for xc use and can take a good battering.
  • splitpea
    Hi, thanks for the reply. I should have said- I also exclusively want a hard tail.

And when I said "light free ride", I mean downhill courses minus the jumps :)
  • Briggo
    Briggo Posts: 3,537
    splitpea wrote:
    Hi, thanks for the reply. I should have said- I also exclusively want a hard tail.

And when I said "light free ride", I mean downhill courses minus the jumps :)

Give an example of the location you are referring too, to give us an idea of what you think downhill courses is.
  • splitpea
    I can appreciate I'm asking a fairly noob question but i did used to race- xc and 4x but mostly downhill, so I understand what a downhill course is. Haha.

I just want a nice, indestructible hardtail that will fit a heavy, tall person that I can cover large distances on.
  • rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    Choices are extremely limited for an extra large downhill capable hardtail. Certainly not the vitus you mentioned anyway.
    Downhill capable hardtails are not common and if you want one big enough for a 6'4" rider they're very rare.
    All I can think of would be a Curtis or BTR custom built frame.
  • splitpea