Avid BB5 rear caliper - no stopping power without pads rubbing on disc

rodgers73
rodgers73 Posts: 2,626
edited May 2016 in MTB workshop & tech
Firstly, I have been a road rider for around 6 years and have only just begun using a hybrid in Jan with mechanical disc brakes on it. So, I'm very new to this system, although relatively handy with bike mechanics. With that in mind, please forgive a possibly naïve question...

My rear brakes developed a noise recently that sounded very much like the disc was rubbing on the pads without the lever being pulled. After a lot of fiddling and watching of YouTube instructional videos I concluded that the issue was a warped disc. I've just fitted a new disc today and the issue is still there.

So far, this is what I have tried (having already centred the caliper) -

1. I wind the inner pad-wheel-thingy out as far as it will go, then insert the brake pads and then slowly wind it back in until the inner pad is as close to the disc as it can go without touching

2. I tighten the cable on the torque arm by loosening the retaining nut and pulling it through with pliers then retightening. I then use the barrel adjusters on the caliper and on the lever to tighten the cable further to the point where the tension is such that any further and I begin to hear friction between outer pad and disc.

3. So, the brake SEEMS correctly set up yet when I ride the bike and try and stop there is very little in the rear brake's stopping power. The lever is being pulled as far as it will go and only minimal retardation occurs. All the work is being done by the front caliper, to the point where I think that there is actually a fault wiith the rear caliper as it cannot possibly be designed to be so weak.

4. The only way I can get a properly functioning rear brake is to tighten it to the point that I can hear the pad and disc rubbing as I ride along - but at least I can stop!