Buying my FIRST bike: CAAD 8 or Allez DSW Elite?

pktran
pktran Posts: 5
edited May 2016 in Road beginners
I am completely new to biking and I wanted to get your guys input on getting a bike. I have got it down to 2 bikes

http://www.goridebicycles.com/Site/15%2 ... 8%206.html

https://www.specialized.com/us/en/bikes ... ite/106649

CAAD8 for 800 USD

ALLEX for 1150 USD

Comments

• kawaspresso
    kawaspresso Posts: 106
    Both are good bike, but the Allez has a more recent groupset with 1 more gear on the cassette.
  • SME
    SME Posts: 348
    I can't work out the CAAD advert... It says it has 20 gears, but then lists a 9 speed cassette and chain???

TBH, I've always quite liked the Allez range of bikes, for no special reason. Think I'd have the grey one.
  • rick_chasey
    rick_chasey Posts: 72,689
    Can't go wrong with either, but if you want a celebrity endorsement, my first ever road bike (which I subsequently took over 1000km worth of Pyrenees in 5 days) was a specialized allez.
  • pktran
    pktran Posts: 5
    I was really leaning towards the CAAD cause its 800 I have not tested it out yet. I have tested on the Allez i liked it . But would like more advice , mush as possible to make my decision.
  • hucko003
    hucko003 Posts: 28