help me decide on bikes!

mxmike1991
mxmike1991 Posts: 56
edited May 2016 in Road buying advice
So I ordered a Planet X rt 58 on Monday But in two minds whether to change now

my question is should I change and get a pro carbon instead? I have bought the bike for training purposes mainly, (to compliment another sport) however I may consider a few races on it? After people telling me it's a relaxed sportive genometry will it be worth doing any? Will it actually make much Of a difference to a amateur like myself? I will probably be doing rides of 30-50 miles 4 times a week. What type of milage will I have to be doing to see a advantage of the sportive frame? And finally could I make the bike more of a race if I wanted with different bars stems etc. I'm fairly new to road bike side of things, I have been riding my mtb on the roads for the last couple of years.

Also I have heard the carbon pro can snap heard a few horror stories.

Any advice greatly appreciated.

Also so money is a issue can't really justify spending any more than £750 but they are on offer at the moment.

Thanks

Comments

• imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    Either bike will be fine - and neither is likely to snap under normal use. Get the one you like the look of...
  • mxmike1991
    Thanks, the snapping wasn't really a huge concern to be fair i was told they are cheap carbon frames and not the highest quality. But probably not a issue really!

Just would like to know if I would benefit a lot more from going carbon with the rides I do, or if so Alu rt 58 will be ample

Thanks
  • andcp
    andcp Posts: 644
    mxmike1991 wrote:
    Thanks, the snapping wasn't really a huge concern to be fair i was told they are cheap carbon frames and not the highest quality. But probably not a issue really!

Just would like to know if I would benefit a lot more from going carbon with the rides I do, or if so Alu rt 58 will be ample

Thanks