New bike frame what to go for??

Bluem00n81
Bluem00n81 Posts: 7
edited May 2016 in MTB buying advice
Hi,

I've been riding for about two years now and have a sc heckler which now I've got into biking more I feel is a bit to much for what I need, so I've sold my frame and after a new frame something less travel and lighter.
Now I'm looking at Something from Lapierre, yeti, intense or SC as these are what my local shop does and want to stick with him.
I mainly ride cliff paths, so granite rocks, steps etc.
I've looked at the yeti ASRc, Lapierre Xm ultimate, intense spider 27.5 c and SC 5010
So what you think?

Thanks

Comments

• Bluem00n81
    Well there the brands I'm looking at as so guess I'm going to have a bad bike then
  • rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    None of those particular bikes. The Santa Cruz Tallboy would be the top choice. Really excellent xc/trail bike. Absolutely brilliant to ride.
    The 5010 may have less suspension travel than the Heckler but if anything it's probably a harder hitting trail bike.
    I wouldn't have anything from Lappierre, they've lost the plot in recent years.
    Intense are good if you don't mind your frame being crooked. It's uncommon to find that after a year either the pivots are coming undone or you just can't get them apart because nothing is properly straight from the factory. But they are hand built with pride in the United States of America.
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    I'd agree with RMSC on the Tallboy over the 5010, or possibly the Hightower which falls between the two somewhat.

Not sure why he's not mentioned the Yeti which is conceptually fairly close to the Tallboy (if anything a little more XC biased) but does limit you on wheel size against a frame size while the TB you can have any frame size as 27.5 or 29.