Speedo

Jonesinamilion
Jonesinamilion Posts: 230
edited May 2016 in MTB general
Evening all, lovely day for it!

Set off for a little ride today and no sooner had I left house my speedo packed in (battery).

I know it shouldn't have done but it realy bugged me throughout the ride. I'm no pro, don't enter events or anything like that, I'm just a hobby rider but i always like to know how far I've gone, how fast I'm going and my average speed... Am I alone on this (the other two guys I went out with don't use one).

I know lots of ppl rely on apps etc nowadays, Is the speedo a dying thing?

I also lost my overall distance when I replaced the batteries :(

Comments

• rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    I've never felt the need for one. All I'm interested in is how much fun I've had.
  • StinkinHippy
    StinkinHippy Posts: 160
    I use strava as an odometer and average speed recorder.. I don't need to see what speed I'm doing at any given time, so wouldn't clog my handlebars up with extra stuff.
  • chrisdouglas
    chrisdouglas Posts: 114
    I use strava as an odometer and average speed recorder.. I don't need to see what speed I'm doing at any given time, so wouldn't clog my handlebars up with extra stuff.

+1 for this. I quite like to look back and see how far I've ridden, and like to know the kinda speeds I was hitting but I have no urge to know while I'm doing it so I just use Strava on my phone and throw it in my bag for the duration.
    2013 Kona HeiHei - 29 Life

http://www.lakesrider.weebly.com
  • chrisaonabike
    chrisaonabike Posts: 1,914
    As soon as I read 'speedo packed' I remembered this...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GTD9aDWdwHg

Sorry.. :lol:
    Is the gorilla tired yet?
  • Looks like I'm a minority then :D

One of the main reasons for me having one is to find out how far I've gone... Because I'll need the time, energy & legs to get back!
  • chrisdouglas
    chrisdouglas Posts: 114
    Looks like I'm a minority then :D