Blocks for tektro r312

Cbetts83
Cbetts83 Posts: 39
edited April 2016 in Road buying advice
Hi, I'm new to road cycling and I'm after some help with replacement brake blocks. I've got a Carrera Virtuoso :oops: with Tektro dual pivot calipers and I'm looking for block recommendations for this caliper. The brakes don't seem bad but the pads are shocking! I presume I can just get a better pad than the stock ones, without upgrading these calipers?

image.jpeg

Comments

• Matthewfalle
    Matthewfalle Posts: 17,380
    Any of the usual suspects: Koolstop, Swisstop, Shimano, Clarkes.
    Postby team47b » Sun Jun 28, 2015 11:53 am

De Sisti wrote:
    This is one of the silliest threads I've come across. :lol:

Recognition at last Matthew, well done!, a justified honour :D
    smithy21 wrote:

He's right you know.
  • Cbetts83
    Any of the usual suspects: Koolstop, Swisstop, Shimano, Clarkes.

I've heard of the koolstop and there reliability. My blocks are all rubber...I take it I need metal cartridges to be able to use koolstop salmon blocks?
  • ayjaycee
    ayjaycee Posts: 1,277
    Frankly, if you want to use any 'upper end' replacements, you need to go for cartridges. Personally, in your position, I would just bin the Tektro things and buy a set of Shimano 105 5800 brakes instead (but somebody will probably be along in a minute and tell me I'm wrong!). Note: There are loads of fairly recent threads on this issue - just use the search but be aware that there is also the usual array of divided opinions.
    Cannondale Synapse Carbon Ultegra
    Kinesis Racelight 4S
    Specialized Allez Elite (Frame/Forks for sale)
    Specialized Crosstrail Comp Disk (For sale)
  • Giraffoto
    Giraffoto Posts: 2,078