What should I be paying?

NWMTB
NWMTB Posts: 12
edited April 2016 in Road buying advice
Newbie here looking for some advice, having been an avid mountain biker for years I am thinking of getting a roadie for the summer months to help with fitness.

I have been offered a 2014 Trek series 4 project one frame I would build up and wondered what sort of figure I should be paying for this frame?

My road bike pricing knowledge is limited, the frame is new but from a private seller.

Could anyone help out here, it would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123
    If this is to be your very first road bike, be very careful that you get something that fits properly. Which is tricky when buying just a frame...

Sorry, can't help with the pricing advice either.
  • NWMTB
    Thanks. Size is OK, I just hope someone can help with a price!
  • NWMTB
    I have found one more new 2014 project one 4 series for sale at £1995, this is for a full build Ultegra set up.

Do you think £600 is fair/market value for a new frame?
  • NWMTB
    Morning bump
  • arlowood
    arlowood Posts: 2,561
    NWMTB wrote:
    Morning bump
    Found another on offer built up at £1820

http://www.kenellerkercycles.co.uk/m1b0 ... e_4_Series

If you subtract say £500 for the Ultegra 6800, £150 for the Bontrager Race wheelset and say £300 for the rest of the finishing kit that leaves roughly £900 for the frameset brand new

Based on those fag packet calculations your £600 is eminently fair for a second hand frame where you might struggle to exercise any warranty claims in future if a problem arose
  • dstev55
    dstev55 Posts: 742
    Looking at what others have said I don't think I'd want to be paying any more than £450 or £500 maximum.
  • keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123