Compact to semicompact conversion

nicolazilio
nicolazilio Posts: 3
edited April 2016 in Road buying advice
Hi everyone,

I ride a bike fitted with a 10-speed Ultegra 6700 groupset and a traditional compact chainset/cassette combination, 50-34 + 11-28. I would like to try out a semi-compact setup to see how it compares to the one I use now. Let's say that I am an enthusiastic amateur rider :D, who prefers climbs over descends or flats. What, allowed, combinations would you recommend as a "balanced" semi-compact? 52-34 + 11-25 or 11-28?

Thanks for the help.

Comments

• ugo.santalucia
    ugo.santalucia Posts: 28,310
    18 teeth drop between chainrings is a terrible idea, don't go there...
    left the forum March 2023
  • markhewitt1978
    markhewitt1978 Posts: 7,614
    52/34 wouldn't work I believe as it's outside the range that the front mech can handle.

In any case the semi-compact is usually 52/36 is it not? You should be able to just straight swap it for your current chainset if you want to do that, save for repositioning the front mech and chain length.

If it's right for you; who can say, we already have a thread about semi-compacts which spans 12,000 pages. Only thing to say is that semi-compacts aren't really aimed at riders who prioritise climbing over all else, but again only you can know what ratios you need and you can easily simulate them with your current setup - save for the highest gears of course.
  • Mad_Malx
    Mad_Malx Posts: 5,160
    I don't understand what you think you are gaining.
    If you prefer climbing to flats or descents, why do you need higher gears? Do you often (ever?) spin out at 50x11?
    We're all different, but with similar terrain preferences to you I prefer a 50-34 with a 10 speed 12-27 cassette because I wouldn't use the 11 (and don't use the 12 very much) and so have better spaces.
  • You can just buy a 36 inner and choose your cassette to suit , maybe 12-25 .