Power meter: 3s avg vs 10s avg

chrisjohnsen
chrisjohnsen Posts: 40
edited April 2016 in Road beginners
Hallo, I am pretty new to training with a power meter and I was wondering if anyone would like to share their preferanses when it comes to the power displayed on the computer.
I am not sure what is the best for my use. When trainig I mostly do longer intervals, from 8-20 minutes. I find the 3s avg power to "jump" a bit too much. Will the 10s avg power be accurate enough, or is it better to get used to the 3s.

Thanks,
Chris.

Comments

• I find 10 far to slow and laggy. So if you're under target power then put out more power, because you're using 10 seconds there will be a delay before the new power is displayed, then you could be a bit over and you'll have to readjust. Personally I use 3 seconds on my Garmin and 4 or 5 seconds on Trainerroad. The power is then much quicker to respond. Yes it can move around a bit but just a matter of getting used to it.

Best thing is to experiment and see what works best for you.
  • hi, thanks for your reply. I will try out the 3 sec for a while and see how it works out, hopefully I will get used to it.

Chris
  • hdow
    hdow Posts: 184
    For longer reps I use the 'lap power' display (Garmin 810) which shows the average power for that lap. At the same time I use the 3 sec average to check that I'm not going too hard or too easy as I have great difficulty holding within a 25 Watt range
  • redvision
    redvision Posts: 2,958
    I am also quite new to training with a pm and the 3 second average can be difficult to hold without too much fluctuation, especially if the roads are not flat.

I found it helps by turning off any other fields such as time, speed, cadence etc and having a page just displaying power data.
  • redvision wrote:
    I am also quite new to training with a pm and the 3 second average can be difficult to hold without too much fluctuation, especially if the roads are not flat.