What kind of frame should I select as a beginner?

Kiki001
Kiki001 Posts: 29
edited April 2016 in Road beginners
I am a beginner and want to build a road bike for myself. Steel? Titanium?Or Carbon fibre?(P.S: Budget is enough) Hope you guys can give me some suggestion. Tks. :)

Comments

• bernithebiker
    bernithebiker Posts: 4,148
    You forgot aluminium...!
  • mrb123
    mrb123 Posts: 4,612
    What type of riding will you be doing?
    Do you want to use the bike all year round?
    Do you envisage wanting to fit mudguards and/or a rack?

You can make a case for any of the main materials, just depends on what your intended use will be.
  • fenix
    fenix Posts: 5,437
    What do you want to build it out of ? If you're a beginner you might HATE cycling. So I'd go for a cheaper steel frame.
  • slowmart
    slowmart Posts: 4,480
    Set an objective context for your question you are asking as each poster will have their own idea of what needs a frame should cater for.

Personally I would suggest you make a visit to your local shop and start a conversation around what you think you want. What you think you want and what you need may be two different things so set a objective context for you and overlay your personal preference once you've gained more informed insight
    “Give a man a fish and feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and feed him for a lifetime. Teach a man to cycle and he will realize fishing is stupid and boring”

Desmond Tutu
  • markhewitt1978
    markhewitt1978 Posts: 7,614
    Kiki001 wrote:
    I am a beginner and want to build a road bike for myself. Steel? Titanium?Or Carbon fibre?(P.S: Budget is enough) Hope you guys can give me some suggestion. Tks. :)

Frame material is irrelevant to a beginner status. Geometry is the important thing.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Kiki001 wrote:

Frame material is irrelevant to a beginner status. Geometry is the important thing.