Will a lighter bike benefit me?

shooter999
shooter999 Posts: 143
edited March 2016 in Road buying advice
Hi Everyone

Looking for some advice. I've been riding for about 10 months, try to get out twice a week with my mates.

My current bike has full ultegra 6700, Fulcrum racing 3 wheels and weighs 7.8kg without pedals and bottle cages. My bike is a little too big for me (bought 2nd hand)

I'm looking at a bike which has full ultegra 6800, bontrager race wheels and weighs 6.5kg without pedals and bottle cages (and will be a good fit for me).

My weight is 75kg, and I dont want to lose any weight.

It's going to cost about £600 to change bikes.

Will I see any real world benefit in changing bikes, or should I stick with What I've got.

Thanks

Comments

• imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    If your current bike is too big and you have the opportunity to change it for one which is a 'good fit' for you - and you are happy to pay £600 to do it - then go for it. The weight thing will be largely unnoticeable though.

I'm not sure of the significance of weighing it without pedals and bottle cages - unless that's how you ride it...
  • shooter999
    Imposter wrote:
    I'm not sure of the significance of weighing it without pedals and bottle cages - unless that's how you ride it...

Thanks for reply.

That's how the other bike has been weighed.
  • Escher303
    Escher303 Posts: 342
    Are you sure it is 6.5kg? That's very light for an Ultegra equipped bike unless it has an exotic frame and components. What is it?
  • shooter999
    Escher303 wrote:
    Are you sure it is 6.5kg? That's very light for an Ultegra equipped bike unless it has an exotic frame and components. What is it?

Trek emonda SL
  • Find a shop which will let you test-ride one. I agree that the biggest difference will likely be because the bike's a better fit.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667