Full-sus advice for the clueless!

tommyguns
tommyguns Posts: 7
edited March 2016 in MTB buying advice
Hello all! Another newbie here wondering if I can please beg a bit of expert MTB advice.

I've been thrashing a budget hard-tail around the slopes for a good couple of years now and the poor thing is struggling to hold onto its pedals, so have finally decided to spring for the full-sus option. Sadly though I'm no expert and have been somewhat saturated by choice - therefore am hoping someone in the know might be able to give me a bit of direction.

To narrow it down initially - I've already opted into the Ride to Work scheme at Evans, so an easy sell for them. Budget is in the £2k ballpark (with a bit of wiggle room if necessary) and am probably looking for a 650b wheel (having tried a friends and liked it a lot). After that it's generally wide open, although I thought a dropper post would be a useful addition too. General riding will be XC and downhill trails.

I've seen three potentials so far, links below:

Norco Sight C7.4 - https://www.evanscycles.com/norco-sight ... e-EV243375
Trek Fuel Ex 8 - https://www.evanscycles.com/trek-fuel-e ... e-EV251298
Specialized Stumpjumper FSR - https://www.evanscycles.com/specialized ... e-EV248200

Have been leaning in the direction of Norco based on the carbon frame, but many of the tech specs are lost on me. Would anyone mind giving me some pointers?

Thanks for reading!

Comments

• JGTR
    JGTR Posts: 1,404
    They all look like they come with dropper posts from the pictures although it's not mentioned in the specifications???

In my limited opinion, the equipment on the Norco looks very low spec, Deore at best - Trek looks higher spec with Fox suspension both ends but personally I'd go for the Specialized as I own one and love it.
  • Briggo
    Briggo Posts: 3,537
    Just to clarify, when you say downhill tracks you don't mean you'd be riding down Fort Williams DH tracks do you.