Serious sit bone pain - advice please!!!

pedarby
pedarby Posts: 28
edited August 2017 in Road beginners
Firstly, I'm new to road riding....I've recently purchased a Cannondale CAA8 with the intention of doing a few commutes to and from work each week (18 miles).

When I was younger I did a fair bit of MTB but until last week hadn't been in the saddle for a good few years.

I know that with these things it is usually good to ease yourself in but long story short because of where I live it's either train all the way to work or ride all the way.

Therefore the first two rides I have done, 7 days apart from one another, were both 18 miles. The last ride was 7 days ago.

I went to get on the bike yesterday but could barely sit on the saddle without excruciating pain in the contact point of what I now know to be my sit bones.

Having done some reading in this forum and other websites I know that this is not unusual, particularly for new riders, so maybe this is simply a case of too much too soon, but I was wondering if anyone has any advice on how to speed up recovery as I am itching to get back on the road but doing so too early might delay full recovery!! Perhaps rest is the only answer?

Any tips or advice gratefully received.

Thanks

Paul

Comments

• MikeBrew
    MikeBrew Posts: 814
    Obviously, a saddle that is a good fit width-wise is very important. To be honest though, from the amount of riding you've done, the pain is probably just something you have to go through. I've had six months off through injury in the past, and returning to my bike gave the same problems.... Your arse is simply what the Indians in the old wild west would would of called a "tenderfoot"... Possibly a even "paleface" too, but we really don't want to go there do we ...
    Buying a saddle from a shop that is set up to measure your sit bones and advise on what is best for you is the only advice I'd give. Probably still going to hurt for a while even with your ideal saddle though.