Touring to Italy on a mixte frame bike from 1972

bice
bice Posts: 772
edited March 2016 in Tour & expedition
http://www.leaseholdknowledge.com/carlton-courette-c1972

I am thinking of turning this bike into a tourer. It is a Carlton Courette mixte frame that I use for commuting and shopping. I think it was described as a lady's tourer, although I am not a lady, in fact.

It is a really comfortable London bike. It is excellent for getting off and on and doing the shopping and I have been using it for five years. But … it is not the stiffest frame even when it is loaded with some shopping.

I now want to go through Corsica and Sardinia to Naples on it. I want to take quite a full load, including tent on this trip. I am getting a bit concerned it might not be up to the job.

I will replace the single chainring with a triple: 42-32-24. The hub is a Miche seven speed freewheel with a 28T.

The shifters are down tube Shimano. Since the picture, the bike now has drops and decent-ish Tektro brakes.

Apart from the frame not being very strong, the back wheel hub being a freewheel is a (minor) concern. They are not as strong as cassettes. But the wheel is pretty strong and heavy. It is also 30 years old, so if the axle breaks I do not mind buying a new wheel if necessary.

I do have a spare a eight speed Shimano Tiagra hub and wheel. But the wheel does have a slight kink in the rim, which means I have to keep an eye on it to keep it true. The Miche wheel is far more solid.

The advantage of going full Shimano is that I have some 8-speed Sora shifters. But with a loaded touring bike, maybe best to keep things simple and stick with the down shifters.

Another minor concern is that the front wheel is an old (very good) 27 inch wheel. This would be an issue is I were taking a spare outer, but I am not. If it breaks, it will just have to be junked.

If I do this in the autumn I could do the Eroica.