‘Not a Warranty Issue’ - Am I being had on?

KingG
KingG Posts: 5
edited March 2016 in Road general
Hello everyone - novice here asking for some advice.

I wanted to get some views on a major breakage that happened recently on my lovely Specialized Secteur. I was on a very gentle incline and suddenly heard an almighty crack and my wheels jammed. Fortunately I was going very slowly so I wasn’t thrown off the bike.

But it now has this:

https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0B6mJmWoovN69MkRnSzRxdnMyek0&usp=sharing

On taking it to a Specialized shop to claim on the warranty the staff were all quite surprised and said they had never seen anything like it before (?!). They said that they would take some pictures to send to head office. Off the record they told me I would quite likely get a replacement as clearly there was a fault for this to have happened.

A week later I get a call from Specialized claiming that because the frame is bent next to where it snapped they think the rear cassette probably came loose and then jammed causing the frame to bend and snap and therefore not a warranty issue.

The bike is only 3 years old (purchased Feb 2013) and I had just had it serviced the week before so I am gutted this is the outcome but I wanted to know what people here thought? Surely even if it’s not a warranty issue 3 years is a bit rubbish for a £600 bike?

The guys who serviced the bike (local indie bike shop) reckon I am being had on and say the frame snapped first. So what I want to know: Is this worth pushing back with Specialized or should I just accept this as bad luck?

PS I was offered a crash replacement frame but with labour costs it was more than buying a new bike!

Any input welcome :D:D

Comments

• cookeeemonster
    cookeeemonster Posts: 1,991
    KingG wrote:
    Hello everyone - novice here asking for some advice.