missing link reuse

ben-----
ben----- Posts: 573
edited March 2016 in Workshop
I'm completely new to connector, or missing link, links. I bought a new (2nd hand) bike recently which had one on its chain. And it's proved pretty useful; being able to take chain off to clean it. Chain has now worn out so am replacing it. Is it OK to just reuse the link? I'm guessing it is, but not indefinitely? How many times do you reuse such a link? Thanks.

Further, they're not that cheap, for what they are: £6.49 from Wiggle (KMC 10 speed). Is there cheaper but still OK ones out there? I suppose if it's OK to reuse many times that isn't so bad.

Comments

• PK1
    PK1 Posts: 193
    Buy a new chain with a new missing link. You can reuse up to and including 10 speed KMC ones, but renew when renewing the chain. KMC do not recommend reusing 11 speed ones, but some people have with no problems.
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    but don't throw it away it can be useful in an emergency.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • ben-----
    By reuse I meant carry the missing link over to a new second chain. Didn't occur to me that reuse, in this context, could mean just undoing and doing up again within one chain's life.

Found this thread: viewtopic.php?t=12975387

Does seem that 10 speed is more reusable than 11 speed. The link I have is one that comes undone very easily, no tool needed.

I've already got a new Ultegra 10 speed chain to replace the 105 10 speed chain on my bike. Judging from the thread I linked to I reckon it'll be OK to reuse the missing link on the new chain.
  • JoostG
    JoostG Posts: 189