Rear mech clips spokes in first gear?

2»

Comments

• dennisn
    dennisn Posts: 10,601
    Fudgey wrote:
    Oh really. The last one i totally rebuilt with new nipples and spokes last year has been perfectly fine thanks.
    I have also modifed/rebuilt several car engines before, that last one was a turbocharged 2.0l Zetec from an old Mondeo.
    That went on to make 400bhp in my old track car..
    Oh, i am not a mechanic either, nor been on any engine building courses. I have read the odd Haines Manual however...
    If you say so.
  • fudgey
    fudgey Posts: 854
    dennisn wrote:
    If you say so.

I do. This is a rubbish video of it on the rolling road, fresh engine so being ran in before mapping etc.
    I didnt paint it or fit the roll cage, but rebuilt it from the ground up.

http://youtu.be/Po0kV41YcYo
    My winter bike is exactly the same as my summer bike,,, but dirty...
  • thegreatdivide
    thegreatdivide Posts: 5,807
    k-dog wrote:
    Semantik wrote:
    Also it would be very unusual (tho' not impossible) for a new mech hanger(not previously fitted to a frame) to be bent or out of alignment.

I don't think that's right - it's not the straightness of the hanger which is the issue but the combination of hanger and frame - and the 2 will never be perfect.

The hanger needs to be installed and then assessed properly so that it's square to the wheel.

Exactly. My brand new Foil frame required a hanger adjustment during assembly.
  • drlodge
    drlodge Posts: 4,826
    I've had a similar problem on my Wyndmilla, I checked the hanger prior to building the bike up and it is straight. When engaged in 1st (low) gear the rear derailleur was a few mm from the spokes, however when I sat and rode the thing up a hill in first gears, I could hear the RD pinging some spokes very lightly.